University Homepage
DRPS Homepage
DRPS Search
DRPS Contact
Home : Regulations : Introduction

Introduction to the Degree Regulations and Programmes of Study 2015/16

The academic life of the University of Edinburgh is structured into three Colleges: the College of Humanities and Social Science, the College of Medicine and Veterinary Medicine, and the College of Science and Engineering. The three Colleges comprise a total of 22 Schools, grouped according to cognate academic disciplines. The University also validates degrees offered by other institutions such as the Scottish Agricultural College. Prospective students should refer to the Undergraduate and Postgraduate pages of the University website ( to find out more about the full range of subjects that can be studied at the University.

The Degree Regulations and Programmes of Study provides information on the programmes of study offered by the University of Edinburgh, and sets out the regulatory framework by which these are governed, together with the regulations and codes that govern the general context of a student’s academic career at the University. The University also recognises regulations in respect of those degrees offered by other institutions and validated by the University, and relevant additional information is provided where appropriate.

It is recommended that any student referring to the Degree Regulations and Programmes of Study in the context of decisions about their programme of study do so in consultation with their Personal Tutor (for undergraduate and taught postgraduate students) or Supervisor/Programme Director (for postgraduate students).